family

Cloth Diapering 

When we were planning our first child I really wanted to go all out and do the minimalist route/all natural route. I had grand plans of an all natural home birth, cloth diapers, breast feeding, essential oils, etc. half those goals were accomplished!  

After Jude was born I went to put his first cloth diaper on him. The diaper was about 3 times too big!! My 8lb newborn was still too small! On top of me thinking they were too big I wasn’t ever shown how to properly put on a cloth diaper. Who would have thought it wasn’t like regular diapers?! Thankfully I was shown how to properly put them on when he was 2 months old. 


With Tyler working part-time and going to college money is really really tight. We were getting to the end of our diapers and I was reorganizing Jude’s dresser when I thought “screw it!” and slapped on his first diaper! I smiled every time I saw it. It was so cute. 


Cloth diapering is not an easy road to tackle especially if you are like us and have no washer and dryer and no sprayer to clean the diapers easily. I hand wash and line dry all my diapers, Shells, and pads. Once a week we go to the laundry mat and I deep wash them all to make sure all the soap residue is gone. About once a month I throw everything into the bathtub with super hot water, baby safe detergent, washing soda, and borox to strip everything. This helps kill any smell, pull out residue, and deep cleans. The sun is your best friend in cloth diapering for eliminating smell, giving your Shells a longer life, and kill bacteria. 

It may not seem like there are a lot of plus sides to this choice but there really are! For one these diapers are completely adjustable and can go from newborn to toddler! I never have to buy different sizes. How awesome is that? You save so much not having to continuously buy diapers. They reduce how much trash goes to the landfill. Babies don’t tend to get diaper rashes with cloth. And they are so cute! You can practically find a diaper in any design that you love. 

With a little effort I have helped my baby and my family in so many ways. You can easily find gently used cloth diapers people are selling online like we did for our solid colored ones and liners. Just be sure to strip them before you use them so you know they are really clean and good to go! We got our fun ones off of wish and they have worked so well! Give it a try or ask any questions you have. 

Leave a Reply

